Contents menu
Board of Directors

Contact us

Welcome Message  
President's Message
Terry Coyne, MD, PhD
President of the AASSFN

The 10th Meeting of the AASSFN has come and gone. An excellent meeting was held in Cairns, Australia, in March 2016, attended by over 100 delegates. A high quality scientific program was supplemented by an enjoyable social program, allowing advances in the field of stereotactic and functional neurosurgery in our region to be discussed in a pleasant environment of new and old friends. Speakers included the current President of the WSSFN, Professor Joachim Krauss, and past Presidents of the AASSFN, Professor Takaomi Taira and Professor Bomin Sun.

Asia -Australasia has one half of the world's population along with one half of the world's neurosurgeons. The potential for our region to contribute to the advancement of stereotactic and functional neurosurgery is therefore vast. Certainly there are increasing publications in the field coming from Asian-Australasian neurosurgeons, and there are more national stereotactic and functional societies joining the WSSFN, increasing our region's influence in the world body.

There remain however countries in our region with less well developed health care systems, where access to stereotactic and functional procedures is limited, and I encourage our members to take advantage of any opportunities which arise to participate in education and training of neurosurgeons from these countries.

Our next meeting will be in the beautiful setting of Sun-Moon Lake, Taiwan, from 20-22 April 2018, under the oversight of Professor Jung-Ting Liu. The meeting website is up and running, and can be accessed from this page. This promises to be another wonderful meeting, in the stunning setting of Taiwan's largest lake. We should all set aside this date and create another outstanding scientific tour-de-force.

Terry Coyne


飾り 11th Meeting
20 - 22, April, 2018
Sun-Moon Lake, Taichung, Taiwan
President: Jung-Tung Liu, M.D. PhD. EMBA
飾り 10th Meeting
3 - 5, March 2016
Shangri-La Hotel (Cairns, Australia)
President: Dr. Terry Coyne
飾り 9th Meeting
10 (FRI) - 12 (SUN), January 2014
Marriott Hotel (Shanghai, China)
President: Dr. Bomin Sun
飾り Professor Sang Sup Chung and Professor Volker Sturm became the recipients of the 2013 Spiegel and Wycis Award
飾り The 16th Quadrennial Meeting of the World Society
for Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery
had been held in Tokyo from May 27-30, 2013
  President: Takaomi Taira, M.D., Ph.D.
Director of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery,
Department of Neurosurgery, Tokyo Women's Medical University, Tokyo, Japan
Meeting location: Hotel Nikko Tokyo
Speigel and Wycis Awards
were presented to two neurosurgeons who have contributed significantly to the Functional Neurosurgery. The awardees were Professor Volker Sturm and Professor Sang Sup Chung.
飾り Memorial Photo of 8th AASSFN
飾り 2009 Spiegel and Wycis Award Announced
  The WSSFN announced that Marc Sindou M.D., D.Sc. and Takashi Tsubokawa M.D., Ph.D. are the recipients of the 2009 Spiegel and Wycis Award. The Spiegel-Wycis Award is presented at each quadrennial meeting of the WSSFN to one or two senior neurosurgeons who throughout their career have contributed to the advancement of the field of Stereotactic and Functional Neurosurgery.

Next Meeting

20 - 22 April 2018
Sun-Moon Lake,
Taichung, Taiwan

Copyright(C) 2014 AASSFN All Rights Reserved.